So, I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a while. Perhaps starting with the lovely Kimberly McCrae at the Duke Women’s Center encouraging me to start one, to which I kind of said “yeah, that’s a good idea…” without thinking that I’d ever actually get around to doing it. Then, my good friend Monica started an awesome feminist blog that I love and you should all follow (https://chronicallymonica.wordpress.com/). Throughout this time, I started noticing more how many Third Wave feminists and womanists have utilized social media as a medium for discussion, for venting, and for education about issues they notice in society. Then, this summer, I read Americanahby Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (which you should all read), in which the main character writes a successful blog about her experiences with race as a non-American black person in the U.S. That got me thinking more about blogging as a means of personal expression and way of sharing one’s examinations of and observations about the world.

Meanwhile, I was studying abroad in Buenos Aires, Argentina, and struck by various aspects I observed about Argentine culture – specifically racial dynamics there – and the similarities and differences from the U.S. I felt a sudden strong urge, as I connected things I learned about Argentine history in class with cultural phenomena I noticed around me, to write a blog post about it. I promised myself I would, but, alas, I kept myself so busy there that I kept putting it off until I found myself back in the U.S, still blogless. Perhaps I’ll finally get around to writing that post as a past reflection.

Now I’m in Paris, France, and I’ve decided to be proactive: I’m creating this site so that when I have some sudden inspiration, I’ll have somewhere to put it. I’m calling it observations because it will consist of my observations – of French culture, Argentine culture, and my own culture. Oh, and I also might tie in some comparisons with my experience in Nairobi, Kenya last summer (see my previous blog). It will probably mostly surround topics of gender, race, sexuality, class, inequality, and social justice, though I’ll also write about anything else I’m feeling like. How often I’ll actually get around to writing something is another question, but hey, here it is!

Rules for my blog:

  1. Please comment! I would love to spark discussions and hear others’ opinions and experiences.
  2. I am trying to become a better intersectional feminist and ally on race and sexual orientation/gender identity issues, but I will definitely make mistakes. While I’m writing about my own experiences, I will also probably at times misjudge things about cultures that aren’t mine. Please kindly call me out when I do.
  3. That said, while I welcome differing opinions and people challenging my views, my time is limited and I will not always respond to every comment. I will also promptly delete any comment that is aggressive, insulting, or otherwise unkind. This blog is meant to be a positive experience for me and anyone else who chooses to engage with it, so please be respectful and remember we are all here to learn from each other.

Thanks!

